The School of Art & Design

The duration of study at this School is five years.  The student’s specialization starts with the third academic year of study in the School of Art & Design.

The School of Art & Design awards a bachelor of sciences degree, master and doctorate degrees and is concerned to make collaboration of joint and/or dual program degrees with the top ranked universities worldwide, as well as with the international research institutes.

The Objectives

The School of Art & Design at CUC aims at improving the level of art & design by using the most modern means of techniques.  The preparation of qualified graduates is the main target through developed teaching programs and curricula and by taking care of student/teacher research activities.

The Departments of the School of Art & Design are mentioned as follows:

  • The Department of Advertising
Advertisement is a non personal means of communication considered as a paid service.  The advertiser is legally identified and has to determine the limits of the advertising message.  This Department at CUC covers many areas of study including publishing, public relations, products display, sponsorship, good warranty and products promotion.
Advertisement is the science of conveying advertising messages in a professional and artful manner including radio, television, movies, magazines, newspapers, internet and fixed ad boards.
Advertising plays an essential role in the capitalist economic system, in terms of creating a higher demand on the competent industrial product, so that most of the clients are owners in profit companies.  For example, in the year 1997, USA had spent more than 175 billion dollars on advertising activities.  As regards the non-profit organizations, they are not considered a traditional user of advertisements, as they often rely on free tools such public advertising services.

  • The Department of Digital Media Production
This Department defines the Digital Media Production as one of the most technological innovations of our time, dominated by the science and the art of media production and the mass media.  The study comprises specialized majors as follows:
  • Static and Moving Digital Photography
  • Digital Audio Production
  • Digital Visual Production
  • Photo Software (as Photoshop)
  • Scanning Operations
  • Scanning Using Optical Slides
  • Scanning Documents and Texts
  • Copying and Producing DVD and CD media
 
  • The Department of Media Art
This Department defines the Media Art as a general term used to describe the art related to and communicated with modern technologies that have been widely spread since the middle of the twentieth century.  The term is characterized by expressing itself through the outcomes of cultural products, in a highly technical manner that compete on the other side with those produced by the art of the ancient media forms represented in painting and sculpture.
 
This close attention to the quality of the Media Art is the most important feature of this contemporary art.  In fact, many universities today have specialized certificates in this field.  The Media Art is often related to or derived from the sciences of telecommunication, popular expanded mass media and digital production patterns that are often related to such art, along with practical applications ranging from expressive photographic art to virtual art to performance art to synthetic art. 

In general, the Media Art comprises the following disciplines:
  • The Mobile Phones Art
  • The Computer Art
  • The Electronic Art
  • The Art of Finance
  • The Art of Production
  • The Art of Information
  • The Interactive Art
  • The Art of the Internet
  • The Art of Performance
  • The Art of Software
  • The Art of Acoustics
  • The Art of Video
  • The Art of Video games
 
  • The Department of Fine Art
This Department defines the Fine Art as the science of beauty or everything related to artistic tasting.  The definition of the term was coined in the year 1767 translated in French language “Les Beaux Arts”, so that this referred, in its forms, to a limited range of visual expressions including painting, sculpture, architecture and printing art.  Still the academic institutes and their equal establishments debate in the usage of this term interpreted by its traditional concept of beauty art which often had taken academic and classic characters.

The term “beauty” in Fine Art does not express the quality of art for art in its essence, but the description of this specialization in its real meaning separated from crafts art or applied art like textiles.
Nowadays, the modern term “Fine Art” is more comprehensive and common when expressing artistic practices and in the mobilization of other free means in many businesses.  The term Fine Art came out of the ultimate aspiration of Aristotle’s philosophy that art is for art without any other meaning or purpose except for the delight of those who work in that field.

The Fine Art is often distinguished from the applied art as a result of what had happened in Britain when a dispute burst between two movements, one for “Art & Crafts” represented by William Morris and the other for modernism represented by Virginia Woolf and the Group of Bloomsbury.  The first movement believed to consider fine art as having a social nature and extends to include the normal crafts product, while the second movement believed to consider fine art limited to the elite class.
 
  • The Department of Computer Animation Graphics
This Department defines the Computer Animation Graphics as the art of innovating animated pictures by using the computer.  Increasingly, the so-called 3D animation graphics are used in the computer field.  Although the 2D animation graphics are still widely used in low frequency channels, the computer is ultimately intended to be used in animation graphics.  In other cases, the target is deemed to be another means of communication such as films referred to by (CGI) and expressed by images produced in the computer and often used to create animation.  In such case, the image is placed in the computer, and then quickly replaced in its move by another image slightly altered in comparison with the previous one.  This, accordingly, creates the desired dynamic motion needed for the animation, and this proceeding had been exactly the technique used in both television and movies since then.
The computer animation graphics is the modern digital generation of the art of a static 3D animation graphics and sequential drawing cadre of images using the 2D graphics.  In all works employing the 3D animation drawings, all scenes must be painted before they are collected, then the scenes are converted to different shapes or formats in various multimedia, such as movies or digital videos.  Also, they can be broadcasted through the internet.

  • The Department of Visual Effects & Motion Graphics
Over the last few years, a growing number of audience in advanced technological audio-visual products had led to an increasing demand for the professional artists in the field of Motion Graphics.  These animated pictures combine various skills, such as colors and general perspective with the design principles on the grounds of optic and visual technologies.
The Institute of Science in Pittsburgh in the United States gives the students, besides the bachelor degree program, the opportunity to study a specialized program through which they can gain skills in new visual effect disciplines.  They focus on assembling film art, television and internet towards a combination of graphics design with film-making animation, sound and graphics.  Thus, the graduate becomes eligible for an art innovation that would attract visually the attention of every spectator.
The study in the field of Visual Effects and Motion Graphics gives the student the necessary knowledge used in more digital technologies for the creation of materials that can affect the mind and the feelings of the viewer.
The student in this Department learns how to create a non-complicated film running that would have impressive visual effects and at the same time serve in commercial effects through integrating live events with their comments and clip art. This is finally encountered by combined effects of graphics with sound.
The student in this Department will become acquainted with the phases of production as a member of an innovative teamwork.  The process of handling a project from the very beginning to its end gives the student the opportunity to learn how to shift from the levels of idea thinking to idea implementation by using the techniques and the skills of production.
Within the last three years of this study, the student will be qualified in his field of specialization and will be ready to exhibit his production and introduce himself very strongly to the business media.  Besides acquiring a bachelor degree, the graduate, as a specialist in this field, will be prepared to work in companies of advertisement, in television cable companies, in films or television shows and/or other relevant companies.

  • The Department of Graphic Design
This Department defines Graphic Design as a type of visual communication using texts or images to provide information or promote a message.  It combines a range of cognitive and craft skills including graphic printing, image development and page design.
Graphic Design is applied for the design of means of communication, fine art and other forms of communication.  It is often expressed in both the design stage for producing means of communication and the design stage of the product itself.  It is traditionally applied in the static media such as books, magazines and brochures. In addition, it is present in programs through the electronic multimedia.
There are many degrees stepping the Graphic Design process that extends from communicating with oral ideas to the initial visual applications move and ends with the display of a final product in commercial art.    

  • The Department of Interior Design and Decoration
This Department defines the Interior Design as the process of adaptation and developing interior areas through maneuvering in the factors of space size, treatment of surfaces and facades.
Unlike the Interior Decoration, the Interior Design art is carried out through the concepts of nature of environment, architecture, product design, furnishing and traditional decoration.
The interior designer is a professional person in the internal space designing.  As part of his work, the interior designer can innovatively analyze programmed information in order to reach a successful artistic proposal, and then enhance his idea or perspective for the achievement of a constructed drawing. In some countries, the interior designer should have a license to practice this profession.

  • The Department of Fashion Design
This Department defines Fashion Design as an applied art that is specialized in creating cloth design as well as accessories, according to the cultural and social impact of a particular period of time.
Fashion Design is different from the traditional cloth design, as the latter products usually become obsolete within one season or two and the season is often autumn/winter or spring/summer.
The art of Fashion Design had begun in the 19th Century with “Charles Frederick Worth” whose work was first seen in the collection of his own clothe designs.  Although the scholars and academics study clothe material for ages, it has been considered that the innovation in Fashion Design only began since the year 1858.
The fashion designers work on both clothes and accessories.  Some big designers work independently for the sake of few clients, while some others work for famous department stores.  They design original collections that are either consistent or adaptable with the public trend fashion.  On the other hand, a large number of fashion designers work for garment manufacturing stores for men, women and children in the big markets and also design brands that carry famous names like “Calvin Klein” under the supervision of a professional manager.
 
  • The Department of Industrial Design
This Department defines Industrial Design as an applied art through which the product can be developed.  The industrial product concept includes the general shape of the product with its minute details, colors, material, sound and environmental usage.  Moreover, the graduate, as industrial designer, is capable to identify certain qualities in the product, such as the choice of materials, instruct on the best way of usage, before delivering it to the consumer at the stage of selling.
The use of the Industrial Design in the development of products leads to the enrichment of such products value through the improvement of the used methods in the field together with the reduction of the product cost.  The main concern in this specialization is to learn how to upgrade the levels of temptation for a best product selling in the market.
In order to apply the Industrial Design concept for the sale of any product, it is important to consider that this design is to be whole sale manufacturing rather than being a manual limited production, and that the manufactured product should have the goal of being equal to the manual piece of art in its high quality level.
To sum up the main idea in this specialization, the Industrial Design study should focus on the concept, manufacturing, production stage information, methods of product usage, environmental compatibility, product engineering taking into account its usefulness and validity as well as the modern ways of product exhibition in the market.

مدة الدراسة بهذه الكلية هى خمس سنوات.

تمنح الكلية درجة البكالوريوس والماجستير والدكتوراه في الفنون و التصميم بالتعاون مع الجامعات والمعاهد البحثية العالمية بحيث تكون الشهادات الممنوحة معادلة لتلك الجامعات والمؤسسات العالمية.

وتضم الأقسام التالية :

  1. قسم الإعلان

الإعلان هو وسيلة اتصال مدفوعة الثمن باستخدام وسيلة غير شخصية بحيث يتم فيها الإفصاح عن المعلن ويحدد ماهية الرسالة الإعلانية . 

يشمل هذا القسم مجالات عديدة منها النشر والعلاقات العامة ، طرح المنتجات في الأسواق ، الرعاية الرسمية ، الضمان للمنتج ، وكذا الترويج للمنتجات .

يستخدم هذا العلم في توصيل أي من هذه الرسائل الإعلانية بحرفية وفن منها الراديو والتلفزيون والأفلام والمجلات والصحف والانترنت ولوحات الإعلان الثابت . 

يلعب الإعلان دوراً أساسياً في النظام الاقتصادي الرأسمالي من حيث خلقه للطلب على المنتج النهائي الصناعي ، لذا عادة ما يكون من بين عملاء الإعلان الشركات الساعية للربح ، ومثال على ذلك أنه في عام 1997 في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية تم إنفاق ما يزيد على 175 مليار دولار على النشاط الإعلاني . أما المؤسسات غير الهادفة للربح فلا تعد المستخدم التقليدي للإعلان إذ تعتمد غالبا على الوسائل المجانية مثل خدمات النشر العامة .

  1. قسم الإنتاج الإعلامي الرقمي
    يضم هذا التخصص الجديد والذي يعد من مستحدثات التكنولوجيا في عصرنا الحالي الذي تسيطر عليه علوم وفنون الميديا أو وسائل الاتصال الجماهيرية ما يلي من دراسات متخصصة : 
    • التصوير الرقمي الساكن والمتحرك .
    • الإنتاج الصوتي الرقمي .
    • الإنتاج المرئي الرقمي
    • برمجيات الصور ( كبرنامج الفوتو شوب )
    • عمليات المسح الضوئي .
    • المسح باستخدام الشرائح الضوئية .
    • مسح المحررات والنصوص .
    • نسخ وإنتاج وسائط الدي في دي ، و سي دي
  2. قسم الفنون الإعلامية

الفن الإعلامي هو تعبير عام يستخدم لوصف الفن المتعلق أو المتصل بما تم استحداثه من تكنولوجيا انتشرت على نطاق واسع منذ منتصف القرن العشرين ، يتميز المصطلح بالتعبير عن نفسه من خلال ما نتج عنه من منتجات ثقافية بأسلوب فني وتقني عالي يقف على الجانب الآخر من تلك التي أنتجها فن الإعلام القديم من رسم ونحت .

إن هذا الاهتمام الوثيق بنوعية وسيلة الإعلام أهم ما يميز هذا الفن المعاصر و في واقع الحال فإن كثير من الجامعات اليوم يتواجد بها شهادات متخصصة في الفن الإعلامي ، فن الإعلام غالبا ما يتصل أو يشتق من علوم الاتصال عن بعد ووسائل الإعلام الجماهيرية الواسعة الانتشار ، وأنماط الإنتاج الرقمي التي غالبا ما تتعلق بمثل هذه الفنون مع التطبيقات العملية التي تمتد من فن التعبير التصويري إلى الفن الافتراضي إلى فن الأداء إلى الفن التركيبي . و بصورة عامة يشمل هذا الفن التخصصات التالية :

  • فنون الهاتف المحمول
  • فن الكمبيوتر
  • الفن الإلكتروني
  • فن التمويل
  • فن الإنتاج
  • فن المعلومات
  • الفن التفاعلي
  • فن الانترنت
  • فنون الأداء
  • فن البرمجيات
  • فن الصوتيات
  • فن الفيديو
  • فن الفيديو جيم

 

  1. قسم الفنون الجميلة

يتعلق هذا العلم بفنون الجمال أو كل ما يتعلق بالتذوق الفني ، فحين تم تعريف المصطلح كان عام 1767 كترجمة من الفرنسية بحيث أصبح يشير إلى مجموعة محدودة من أشكال التعبير البصرية بما يشمل الرسم والنحت وفن العمارة وفن الطباعة ، وما زالت المعاهد العلمية وغيرها من المؤسسات المناظرة تستخدم المصطلح للإشارة إلى المفاهيم التقليدية في الفنون التصويرية والتي غالبا ما تأخذ الصفة الأكاديمية أو الكلاسيكية .

إن تعبير الجميلة المستخدم في المصطلح لا يرمز غالبا إلى مستوى جودة العمل الفني موضوع الاهتمام ولكن لوصف رقي التخصص ذاته ، ويقصد من ذلك فصل هذه الفنون عن غيرها من فنون حرفية أو فنون تطبيقية مثل النسيج .

إن المصطلح الحديث المعروف بالفن البصري هو اليوم أكثر شمولا وشيوعا في التعبير عن الممارسات الفنية وعن حشد أي من وسائل التعبير التي يعتبر الفن الجميل كثيرا ما يستخدم فيها ، غالبا ما ينطلق لفظ الجميل من الغاية النهائية أو المستهدفة في فلسفة أرسطو ، حيث تعد الغاية النهائية أو الفن الجميل هي موضوع الفن ذاته بحيث لا تعني ولا تهدف لغرض آخر فيما عدا إسعاد من يمتلكون هذا الفن .

إن الفنون الجميلة غالبا ما تتميز عن الفنون التطبيقية كنتيجة لما صار في بريطانيا من خلاف بين إتباع حركة " الفنون والحرف " التي ضمت وليم موريس وبين ما يعرف بالحداثيين والتي ضمت فرجينيا وولف " وجماعة " البلومسبوري " ، حيث كان الأولون يعتقدون بضرورة أن يصبح لهذه الفنون طبيعة اجتماعية وأن يمتد مفهوم الفنون الجميلة بحيث تشمل مملكتها المنتجات الحرفية العادية ، في حين كانت الجماعة الأخيرة تعتقد أنها تقتصر على طبقة الصفوة المحدودة.

  1. قسم الرسوم المتحركة

الرسوم المتحركة هي فن ابتكار الصور المتحركة باستخدام الكمبيوتر ، بصورة متزايدة يتم استخدام ما يعرف بالرسوم الثلاثية الأبعاد في الكمبيوتر برغم أن استخدام الرسوم ثنائية الأبعاد ما زال أيضا يستخدم على نطاق واسع في القنوات منخفضة التردد ، في بعض الأحيان يعتبر الكمبيوتر هو المقصود في النهاية باستخدام الرسوم المتحركة ولكن في أحيانا أخرى يكون المستهدف هو وسيلة اتصال أخرى كالأفلام وقد يشار إليها بمختصر ( C G I  ) والذي يعني الصور المنتجة بواسطة الكمبيوتر وذلك غالبا حين يتم استخدامها في الأفلام من أجل خلق الإيهام بالحركة يتم وضع الصورة في الكمبيوتر ثم بصورة سريعة يتم استبدالها بصورة أخرى ممثلة للصورة السابقة بعض الشيء ولكنها متغيرة قليلة في وضعيتها مما يخلق الإيحاء الحركي المطلوب للرسوم ، هذا التكنيك هو ذاته ما تم التوصل له في كلا من التليفزيون والأفلام السينمائية .

الرسوم المتحركة بالكمبيوتر هي الجيل الرقمي الحديث لفن الرسوم الحركية الثابتة من ثلاثية الأبعاد والكادر المتتابع في التصوير باستخدام البعدين ، في كل الأعمال التي تتم بتقنية الأبعاد الثلاثية للرسم يجب أن يتم رسم جميع مشاهد الفيلم بالكامل قبل أن يتم تجميعه ، يتم تحويل المشاهد إلى أشكال أو فورمات مختلفة من الوسائل مثل الأفلام أو الفيديو الرقمي ، كما يمكن بث المشاهد من خلال شبكة الانترنت .

  1. قسم المؤثرات البصرية ورسوم الحركة

على مدار السنوات الأخيرة أدى التزايد الملحوظ في عدد جمهور أنواع المنتجات المرئية والمسموعة المتطورة تقنيا إلى تزايد الطلب على المتخصصين في فنون الجرافيك المتحركة وتصميم الإعلانات حيث يقوم مصممي المؤثرات البصرية ورسوم الحركة بالمزج بين مهارات مختلفة مثل الألوان والمنظور العام ومبادئ التصميم في تقنيات البصريات والمرئيات ، يمنح معهد بترسبرج للعلوم في درجة البكالوريوس في أمريكا الدارسين فيه فرصة دراسة برنامج متخصص يمكن لهم من خلاله الحصول على مهارات في تخصصات جديدة تركز على المزج بين فنون الأفلام والتليفزيون والإنترنت من خلال المزج بين تصميم الجرافيك وصناعة الأفلام والرسوم المتحركة والصوت ، يصبح خريج هذا البرنامج مؤهلا للابتكار في فن جذب انتباه المشاهد بصرياً.

إن الدراسة في مجال المؤثرات البصرية ورسوم الحركة سوف تمنح الدارس المعرفة التي يمكن له أن يستخدم فيها مزيد من التقنيات الرقمية لخلق المادة التي يمكن لها أن تؤثر في عقل ومشاعر المشاهد.

سيتعلم الدارسين كيفية بناء مادة للعرض غير معقدة ويمكّن لها الأثر البصري الممتع مع التأثير التجاري في الوقت ذاته من خلال التكامل بين الحدث الحي والتعليق على الصورة وفن الكليب وعناصر الجرافيك والصوت معا .

سيتمكن الدارسين في هذا القسم من الحصول على المعرفة بمراحل الإنتاج وتعلم كيفية أن يكون عنصرا من فريق مبتكر ، إن القيام بمشروع من بدايته إلى نهايته يمكن الدارس من تعلم كيفية الانتقال من مستوى الفكرة بتقنيات ومهارات التنفيذ وفي الربع الأخير من هذا البرنامج سيُمكن للدارسين أن يختاروا منطقة التخصص وأي من الأهداف الخاصة بتخصصاتهم و سيصبح موضوع عملهم بحيث يكون كل خريج قد أصبح لديه مجموعة من أفضل ما أنتجه خلال هذه المرحلة ليمكن لهم أن يقدموا أنفسهم من خلالها إلى الجهات المتوقع لها أن تقوم بتوظيفهم .

شهادة البكالوريوس في تخصص المؤثرات البصرية ورسوم الحركة سوف تعد الخريج للبحث عن بداية في مجال شركات الإعلان ، شركات الكابل التليفزيوني أو الأفلام أو العروض التليفزيونية كمتخصص في فنون المؤثرات البصرية .

  1. قسم تصميم الجرافيك

تصميم الجرافيك هو نوع من التواصل البصري باستخدام النص أو الصور لتقديم المعلومات أو ترويج رسالة .

يجمع فن تصميم الجرافيك بين نطاق من المهارات الإدراكية والحرفية شاملة الطباعة التصويرية وتطوير الصور وتصميم الصفحات .

تصميم الجرافيك يطبق في تصميم وسائل الاتصال والفنون الجميلة وغيرها من أشكال الاتصال ، غالبا ما يشار إلى تصميم الجرافيك في كلا من مرحلة التصميم في إنتاج وسائل الاتصال وكذا مرحلة تصميم منتجات ، كذلك يطبق تصميم الجرافيك بصورة تقليدية في وسائل الميديا الثابتة كالكتب والمجلات والنشرات الدعائية ، يضاف لهذا بفضل الكمبيوتر يمكن استخدام تصميم الجرافيك في وسائط الميديا الإلكترونية .

هناك العديد من درجات تصميم الجرافيك حيث تمتد من مجرد توصيل الأفكار شفاهة إلى الوسائل المرئية المبدئية حتى انتهاءً بالمنتج النهائي في الفن التجاري .

  1. قسم التصميم الداخلي والديكور

التصميم الداخلي هو عملية تطويع وتطوير المساحات الداخلية من خلال المناورة بحجم الفراغ وكذلك معالجة السطوح والواجهات .

على خلاف الديكور الداخلي فإن التصميم الداخلي يتم من خلال مفاهيم طبيعة البيئة وفن العمارة وتصميم المنتج والتأثيث بالإضافة إلى الديكور التقليدي .

المصمم الداخلي هو الشخص الذي يعد مهنيا في تصميم الفراغ الداخلي كجزء من عمله ، هو ذلك المبتكر الذي يقوم بتحليل المعلومات المبرمجة لكي يتوصل إلى تصور فني ثم يقوم بتطوير وتحسين الفكرة أو المنظور الذي توصل له ثم يقوم بوضع تصور للجرافيك ثم رسومات إنشائية له في بعض البلاد يشترط للمصمم الداخلي رخصة حتى يمكن له الممارسة .

 

  1. قسم التصميم الحديث

التصميم الحديث هو فن تطبيقي متخصص في ابتكار تصميم الملابس وكذلك الإكسسوارات التي يتم إبداعها وفقا للثقافة والتأثير الاجتماعي لزمن معين .

التصميم الحديث يختلف عن تصميم الملابس التقليدي من حيث أن الأخير يتقادم منتجه الرئيسي وهو الملابس في غضون موسم أو اثنين على الأكثر والموسم غالبا ما يكون الخريف والشتاء أو الربيع والصيف .

يعد فن التصميم الحديث قد بدأ في القرن التاسع عشر مع " شارلز فردريك وورث " الذي كان أول من شوهدت بطاقاته على مجموعات الملابس التي صممها ، وفي حين يتم دراسة كل مواد الثياب بواسطة الدارسين الأكاديميين على مر العصور إلا أن الملابس التي تم ابتكارها اعتباراً من عام 1858 هي التي يمكن اعتبارها تصميما حديثاً .

المصممون الحديثون يقومون بتصميم الملابس والإكسسوارات وبعضا من كبارهم يعمل لحساب نفسه وبعض العملاء الفرديين ، في حين يتخصص البعض الآخر منهم في العمل لحساب بعض المتاجر الشهيرة ، حيث يقومون بتصميم المجموعات الأصلية وكذا التي تتماشي مع الطابع العام للموضة ، عدد كبير منهم يعمل لحساب مصنعي الثياب حيث يقومون بتصميم ملابس للرجال والنساء والأطفال للأسواق الكبرى كما يصممون ماركات تحمل أسماء شهيرة ومثالها " كالڤن كلاين " والتي يتم تصميمها بواسطة فريق منهم تحت إشراف مدير متخصص .

  1. قسم التصميم الصناعي

التصميم الصناعي هو فن تطبيقي يمكن من خلاله تطوير استخدامات المنتج . تتضمن المفاهيم الخاصة بالمنتج الصناعي الشكل العام للمنتج ، تفاصيله ، الألوان ، المادة ، الأصوات ، وكذا مفاهيم استخدام المنتج بيئيا .

بالإضافة لذلك قد يقوم المصمم الصناعي بتحديد بعض الخصائص للمنتج مثل اختيار المواد المستخدمة وطرق تقديم المنتج للمستهلك في مرحلة البيع .

إن استخدام التصميم الصناعي في تطوير المنتجات قد يؤدي للإضافة للمنتج قيمة له من خلال تحسين أسلوب الاستخدام أو تخفيض تكلفة المنتج ، مما يرفع من درجة إغراء المنتجات ، فمن المهم حتى يمكن تطبيق التصميم الصناعي للمنتج أن يتم إنتاجه صناعيا وليس بصورة يدوية بحيث  يصبح في بعض الأحيان قطعة فنية أكثر من كونه منتجا صناعيا .

التصميم الصناعي يركز على المفاهيم والتصنيع ومراحل الإنتاج بالإضافة إلى طريقة الاستخدام والتوافق البيئي ، كما يمكن أن تهتم الدراسة بهندسة المنتج وفائدته بالإضافة لقابليته للاستخدام ووسائل طرحه في الأسواق وغيرها من المفاهيم الجديدة لهذا التخصص .